Admin Menu
Options listed in the Admin menu are only available to Variations catalogers
and others with administrative access. Library patrons do not have access to
this menu or any of the related options.
Show Hidden Records in Search Results
- Hidden records (1) have either Import Only or In Progress status,
(2) are contributor records not bound to a work or container record,
or (3) are work records not bound to a container record
- When checked, all hidden records will show up in basic,
advanced and keyword search results
- When unchecked, end-user results display. End users do not have
access to hidden records
New Container Record
- Selecting this option creates and opens a new contributor record
New Work Record
- creates and opens a new work record
View MARC Record - Container
- Allows catalogers to open MARC Record view windows for specific containers
- The MARC Record window helps identify contributors and works records already existing
in the system, as well as those which need to be created
- Only contributors and works provided access points in the original bibliographic record
will appear
The MARC Record view window for containers may be retrieved in two ways:
Z39.50
- If a bibliographic record is present in IUCAT, the MARC Record view window
should be searchable through Z39.50
- Click the Admin menu button, highlight "View MARC Record - Container" and select
"From Z39.50."
- After the Z39.50 search window appears, enter the media objects ID
(also known as the Variations1 or Notis ID) in the Variations ID field
and click the "Search" button.
- If the media objects ID is unknown, catalogers should search for
the container in IUCAT. Bibliographic records for digitized items
include URLs which incorporate the correspondinging media object
ID at the end.
- When search results appear, the top box displays part of
the 245 field entry and the bottom window displays most of the content
from the original MARC bibliographic record
- If more than one entry appears in the top box, highlight individual entries
and view content in the lower box to determine the correct entry.
- To open the MARC Record View window, highlight the desired
entry in the top box and click the "View" button in the lower right of the screen.
- The MARC Record window contains five boxes:
Recognized Contributors
- Only contributors represented by access points in the original MARC record and
for which a V3 contributor record already exists will display in this box.
- To clarify whether an entry is the desired one, highlight an entry and click the
"View" button. A Record View window will open, providing basic information from the
contributor record
- Entries in this box may be "dragged and dropped" to contributor tabs/windows
in work, container, and instantiation records
New Contributors
- Only contributors represented by access points in the original MARC record
and for which NO V3 contributor record exists will appear in this box.
- The system does not catch spelling errors. If a name appears to be spelled incorrectly
in the New Contributors list entries, try searching the correct spelling in
the V3 Admin tab Contributor search.
- To create a new contributor record:
- Highlight the desired entry, then click the "Create" button
- A new contributor record opens and the name heading will sort to the
Uniform Name field. Complete the contributor record as described
in the cataloging guidelines
- Once a contributor record has been created and saved,
return to the MARC Record view window and press the "Refresh" button.
The name entry should now appear in the Recognized Contributors box and may
be "dragged and dropped" to contributor tabs/windows.
Recognized Works
- Only works represented by access points in the original MARC record and for
which a V3 work record already exists will appear in this box.
- To clarify whether an entry is the desired one, highlight an entry and click the
"View" button. A Record View window will open, providing basic information from the
work record
- Entries in this window may be "dragged and dropped" to the instantiation list
(located on the container record's Instantiation Tab)
New Works
- Only works represented by access points in the original MARC record
and for which NO V3 work record exists will appear in this box.
- The system does not catch spelling errors. If a name appears to be spelled incorrectly
in the New Contributors list entries, try searching the correct spelling in
the V3 Admin tab Contributor search.
- WARNING: There is a bug associated with this window. Many works
sorting to this box actually ARE in Variations2. This problem appears to be related to
entries in which parts of works are indicated (|p entries). In such instances, the
work title should be searched in the creator/work search before creating a new record
- To create a new work record:
- Highlight the desired entry, then click the "Create" button
- A new work record opens and the title heading sorts to the Uniform
Title field. Complete the work record at either minimal or complete
level as described in the cataloging guidelines
- Once a work record has been created, return to the MARC Record view
window and press the Refresh button. The entry will move from the New
Works box to the Recognized Works box.
Bibliographic Record box
- This window displays the MARC record
(including fields and tags) for the selected item
From a File
- On occasion, bibliographic records may not be found through Z39.50 or
the one found might not be adequate. In such instances, catalogers may
decide to import bibliographic records from OCLC. Once a bibliographic
record has been exported from OCLC and saved to a local file, it may be
retrieved and imported to the container record via this option.
- For instructions on how to retrieve and import local files, see the
Exporting and Importing Records section in the cataloging guidelines
View MARC Record - Work
- Use this option to view work authority records saved to a local file, but for
which no Variations2 record has yet been created. Catalogers must know the file
to which the record was saved, or will be required to manually search through
the various files
- Presently, the retrieval of work information is not possible via Z39.50
- Click the Admin menu button, highlight "View MARC Record - Work" and
select "From File."
- A local file/folder window will open. Select the folder to which the work
authority record was saved and press "Open."
- In the following window, select the file to which the authority record
was saved and press "Open."
- Highlight the desired entry in the top box and press "View."
- The MARC Record window for works contains three boxes
Recognized Contributors
- The Recognized Contributors box lists contributor names
(generally composers) which were provided access points in
the original authority record and are represented by contributor records in
Variations2.
- To clarify whether an entry is the desired one, highlight an entry and
click the View button. A Record View window will open, providing basic
information from the contributor record.
- Entries in this window may be "dragged and dropped" to the contributor tab of
work records.
New Contributors
- This box lists contributor names which were provided access points in
authority records, but are not represented by contributor records in V2
- The system does not catch spelling errors. If an entry in the New Contributors
list appears to be spelled incorrectly, try searching the correct spelling in
the Admin tab Contributor search.
- To create a new contributor record:
- Highlight an entry, then click the "Create" button
- A new contributor record will open with the name heading sorted to
the Uniform Name field. Complete the record at either minimal or complete
level as described in the cataloging guidelines
- Once a contributor record has been created, return to the MARC Record
view window and press the Refresh button. The entry will then move from
the New Contributors box to the Recognized Contributors box
Work Authority Record Window
- This window displays the MARC authority record (with tags and fields)
View MARC Record -- Contributor
- Use this option to view name authority records saved to a local file,
but for which no Variations2 record has yet been created. Catalogers must know
the file to which the record was saved. If the file name is unknown, catalogers
may open and search through the various files.
- Click the Admin menu button, highlight "View MARC Record - Contributor" and
select "From File."
- In order to view a contributor MARC record window, follow the
steps outlined above for work records
- The MARC record window for contributors consists of just one box. As
this box merely displays content from the authority record and the dragging/dropping
of elements is not possible from this window, catalogers will rarely use this option