Cataloging Example: Work Record
Step 1
Create a new work record
Step 2
Cataloging
The following example goes through a work record field by field without taking
into account minimal or complete criteria.
Description Tab
- Uniform Title
- Content should sort to this field when a work authority record imports.
- When constructing a Uniform Title entry from scratch, follow the rules outlined
in AACR2 chapter 25.
- If creating a Uniform Title for an arrangement, enter "; arr." at the end of this
entry (and do the same for each work structure entry included in the arrangement).
- Non-Filing Indicator
- Not applicable and does not have an impact on the sorting order of search results.
- Related Works
- This option allows for the identification of two types of work relationships:
(1) arrangements/versions and the original work and (2) large-scale collective
works and the individual components when represented in separate work records
- Arrangements/Versions:
- When dealing with the original work, enter the ID of the arranged work or
version record and indicate the type as "has versions."
- When dealing with the arranged work or a version, enter the ID of the
original work record and indicate the type as is version of."
- Collective:
- When dealing with the large-scale collective work, enter the ID(s)
of each part for which a separate work record exists and indicate the
type of each as "has parts."
- When dealing with a part of a large-scale collective work, enter the ID
of the large-scale collective work and indicate the type as "is part of."
- Title Source
- Content should sort to this field when a work authority record imports.
- When constructing a work record from scratch, follow formatting rules as
outlined in the cataloging guidelines.
- Variant Titles
- Content should sort to this field when a work authority record imports.
- Additional variant titles may be added to facilitate searching. Follow Uniform
Title formatting rules as outlined in AACR2
- Type
- Defines whether the record represents a single or collective entity. The default
is Single.
- Single: work structure is generally represented completely on recordings and scores.
Examples: symphonies, concertos, etc.
- Collective: work structure includes elements which often stand alone on recordings and
scores. Examples: song cycles, a work record representing all Brandenburg concertos, etc.
- Date of Composition
- Enter the date of composition in this field. Such dates may be found in authority
record notes or in NGO (New Grove Online).
- Place of Composition
- Enter the place where the work was composed in this field. Such information is often
found in authority record notes or in NGO. Try to indicate both city and state/country.
- Date of First Performance
- Enter the date on which the work was first performed, if known.
- (No Example)
- Date of First Publication
- Enter the year in which the work was first published, if known.
- (No Example)
- Other Dates
- Enter any other dates deemed important to the work here.
- In the Type field, enter a brief description of what the date represents.
- Original Text Title
- For vocal works, enter the title of the original text upon which the work
was based, if different from the musical work title.
- (No Example)
- Languages
- For vocal works, indicate the language of the vocal text, as originally intended
by the composer.
- The context is generally "Vocal text."
- Subject Headings
- Enter the Library of Congress Subject Heading appropriate for the given work.
- The source is generally "LCSH."
- Class Number and Source
- Enter the Library of Congress Classification Number appropriate for the given work.
- The source will be "LCCS."
- In practice, this field is left blank.
- Instrumentation
- Specify the performing forces for a given work, as originally
intended by the composer.
- For arrangements and versions, indicate the instrumentation specified for the
arrangement/version, not for the original work.
- Instrument options may be selected from the drop down list or, if the instrument is
known, catalogers may type it in to the Instrument field. If the term entered
does not match any on the list, the entry will not be accepted.
- For further assistance, see searchable alphabetical
and hierarchical instrumentation lists.
- Genre, Form and Style
- Specify the genre, form and/or style of a given work.
- Options may be selected from the drop down list or, if the term is known,
catalogers may type it in the Form/Genre/Style field. If the typed term does
not match any on the list, the entry will still be accepted (however, the
term will not automatically be incorporated in the list).
- For further assistance, see searchable alphabetical
and hierarchical genre, form and style lists.
- Key
- If easily identified from the Uniform Title, authority record notes or NGO, enter the
key in the three drop-down fields.
- Notes
- Content should sort to this field when a work authority record imports.
- For instructions on how to format note entries, consult the NACO-Music
Project page of examples.
- Notes labeled with "Administrative" as the Type may be entered in any form.
- Resources
- In this field, catalogers may create links to online sources or identify
important print resources that may be useful to end users.
- In general, only links to relevant NGO articles have been entered here (it
is best to first perform a browse search in NGO rather than enter a name in the
search box. Browse search results sort entries from all three New Grove
dictionaries together, whereas results from the search box do not. If multiple
articles exist for an individual or group, create entries for each article.)
- Information on the formatting of information in the Title, Description and URL
Resource fields may be found in the cataloging guidelines
- The field contents in this example are as follows:
- Title: "The New Grove Dictionary of Music Online", article on 'Mozart:
(3) Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Works: chamber: Keyboard and violin'
- Description: Cliff Eisen, Stanley Sadie: 'Mozart: (3) Wolfgang Amadeus
Mozart: Works: chamber: string quartets', "The New Grove Dictionary of Music
Online" ed. L. Macy (Accessed 02 March 2005) <http://www.grovemusic.com>
- URL: http://www.grovemusic.com/shared/views/article.html?section=music.40258.3.12.19.6
- Distinguish entries from the opera and jazz sections by entering either "(opera)"
or "(jazz)" to the end of the article title in both the Title and Description fields.
- Other System IDs
- Content should sort to this field when a work authority record is imported.
- This field should remain blank when a work record is created from scratch.
- Status
- Once a record is completed, catalogers should change the status to minimal or
complete, depending upon the level of thoroughness attempted by the cataloger.
- View Record Access Data
- This window identifies when and who created the record and when it was last updated
- Information in this window is automatically generated.
Contributor Tab
- Contributor List
- All individuals responsible for creating the work should be listed here (composers,
lyricists, arrangers, etc.). Assign the correct role to each entry.
- Contributors may be added to the list in two ways:
- Drag and drop from a MARC Record window (highlight an entry in the Recognized
Contributors box, keep pressure on the mouse and drag over to the Contributor
List window).
- Directly enter the contributor record ID in the Name Record ID field (the
ID will be listed in admin tab search results)
- Name Record ID
- Specifies unique identifiers for linked contributors.
- Uniform Name
- Specifies the Uniform Name associated with any given V2 contributor record ID
- This field automatically populates when contributors are added to the Contributor
List. This field is purely for identification purposes and catalogers may not add contributors
through this field.
- Name Used
- In the creation/publication of a work, if an individual used a name other than
that listed in the Uniform Name field, enter that alternate name here.
- Role
- Select the role most closely associated with each creator from the drop down menu.
Work Structure Tab
- Work Structure Window
- The work structure outlines the structural plan of a work
- The uppermost node automatically populates when an authority record is imported.
When creating records from scratch, contents first entered in the Uniform Title field
(Description tab) will sort to this node. Any subsequent changes will not be
transferred between the fields and must be altered manually.
- Consult authoritative sources such as the authority file, thematic catalogs,
collected editions, etc., to construct work structures. With the exception of
operas and works for which no score exists (or may be accessed), recordings
are not considered authoritative.
- Manually enter the name of the composer (and arranger if present) in parentheses at
the end of the uppermost node entry and press UPDATE. Represent the first name by
an initial. For popular music entries, list only the last names of both composers
and lyricists.
- To add new nodes:
- Press NEW. Fill in the relevant information and press UPDATE.
- With the exception of the uppermost node, a new node will appear
directly below and at the same level as any highlighted entry.
- To nest nodes beneath other nodes:
- Highlight the node(s) to be indented and click the MOVE TO button.
Select the entry beneath which the nodes should sort and press OK.
- Themes
- This is a special feature which concerns adding thematic incipits for display in
search results and is not required..
- For additional information on themes and incipits, click
here.
- Label
- Entries in this field are not searchable, but serve display and organizational
purposes
- Purely organizational entries include act numbers, scene numbers, etc.
- Work section entries equivalent to |p entries in MARC record fields are
also entered here.
- In regard to entry format, follow the rules outlined in AACR2, chapter 25.
Initial articles may be included in this field.
- When dealing with multi-movement works, the sequential order of the movements
should be indicated with Roman numerals. If title entries already specify
sequential order, do not include Roman numerals.
- Title
- Entries in this field are searchable.
- In this field, include the entry in the Label field, minus any initial articles.
- If the cataloger determines additional variant titles should be added to increase
end user search results, separate multiple entries by <space><semi-colon><space>.
- Do not include numbers signifying sequential order in this field unless such
numbers are part of a uniform title.
- Type
- Types must be associated with each structural element, although types are
not searchable and presently do not have a purpose. Catalogers should use their
best judgment in selecting a label.
- After assigning a type to a lower node, press UPDATE to save all information
added up to this point.
- Measures
- This is a special feature related to synchronization/measure level binding and
not required for minimal or complete level cataloging
- For information on score and recording synchronization, click
here.
- Source and Notes (related to measure count)
- This is related to synchronization/measure level binding and entries are not
required for minimal or complete level cataloging.
- Source of Work Structure
- Entries in this field specify the sources upon which the work structure is based.
- If the structure simply consists of the uppermost node, leave this field blank.
- Enter enough information to make the source easily identifiable. For example,
the Schubert thematic catalog could be entered "Deutsch, 1978" and an article
in New Grove Online as "NGO: 'article name'".
- When describing scores and other print materials: enter source titles in quotation
marks, followed by the publisher and date of publication or, if part of a
collective edition, the volume and series numbers. Enclose publication information
in parentheses.
- Always consult the authority file in conjunction with other sources.